Posted in Motivation, Positive Thinking, Self Improvement

A Little Background


Growing Up

First…..a look back.

Born in 1946, I was the fourth child.  I have 2 brothers and 1 sister.  My brothers are several years older and my sister 3 years older.  So, as they say, I was the baby of the family.  Growing up it was almost like there were 2 families because of the age difference.  My brothers were 11 and 13 years older so their formative years were quite a bit different from myself and my sister.  Add to that the boy vs girl and when you talk to my brothers they will say they had a more negative experience.  Talk to the girls and they will say they had a more softened experience; more loving. 

Family life…..I was married for the first time in 1971 and had 2 children, both boys, in 1974 and 1977.  Then I was divorced.  Years later I married again, this time to my high school sweetheart.  We reconnected after 38 years and we are together today.  I am a grandmother to a wonderful 13 year old girl and a sweet little 1 1/2 year old boy.  Life is good.

Education…… my youngest brother was the first to go on to college.  I was the second, but our paths there were much different.  He had someone in the school system who asked him about his plans for college and based on my brothers response he was given help with the whole process and was accepted at Cornell immediately upon his high school graduation.

My path to college took a lot longer.  I wanted to go to college right out of high school but there was no one that stepped up to help.  Looking back I have wondered why my brother did not help me.  So, I ventured into the workforce.   Then I married, started a family, and then divorced and went back to work.  I worked hard to better myself and started college courses part time at night.  I earned my associates degree with honors and continued to take additional classes.  I knew it would take me years to finish a bachelors degree and was discouraged.  Then I was excepted into an accelerated program and was able to earn my bachelors degree in 1 year, again with honors.  The amazing thing about this is my employer paid for all of it. 

What I like to do……I have always liked antiques and after retirement I started a small business buying and selling antiques and joined a local antique mall.  I loved doing this and absolutely loved the hunt for great items.  Over the years I have gone to many Estate Sales and Auctions.  Such fun.  This past year I did give that up.  I still dabble and will continue to do so.  I also sell on Ebay and at some point may venture into selling on Etsy or some other venues.

I love to quilt and this year made 2 quilts as Christmas presents; one for my granddaughter and one for my son and his wife.

I love to read but find that I do not take the time like I used to.  One reason is my vision.  I have macular degeneration and our house is dark.  I do more reading in the summer when I can go outside; the light is so much better.

What are some of the things I want to do…..first and foremost I want to live at least 20 more years which is a lofty goal.  I want a good long healthy life.  So with that in mind I need to do the following:  Eat right and Exercise.  Just what everyone should be doing.

I want to learn another language.  I want to go ziplining (a little crazy).  I want to learn how to lift weights and I want to have an awesome ab; both externally and internally.  I want to start using my treadmill and keep using it.  I want to start doing yoga and pilates again.   I want to join a walking club.  I want to visit Letchworth State Park multiple times a year; it’s beautiful there.  There is more too; I just want to be more.

 It is all based on time.  That is part of the reason for this blog.  I tend to procrastinate and do a great deal of thinking about doing all the things I love but not quite really pushing myself to do them.  So that is one of my goals.  If I put myself out there and tell you I am going to do something will I then push myself harder to actually do it.  We will see.  What do you think; do you have the same tendency and what do you do to over come it ?